News-Current Report

DAYTON — Five Carroll High School seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists.

Julia Arnold, Ryan Buechele, Alex Dingus, Angela Smith, and Maeve Curliss are among the 661 students from 188 Ohio high schools. The semifinalists gained the recognition by achieving at least a 217 selection index on the College Board’s 2015 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualification Test. The highest possible selection index is 228.

“We are very proud of these outstanding scholars,” Principal Matt Sableski said. “Their achievement is a testament to their hard work, supportive families, and excellent preparation from teachers not only in high school, but in grade school as well. I have no doubt all five students will be highly successful regardless of what path they choose in life.”

Carroll High School has the second-most NMS semifinalists of any high school in Montgomery County and the second-most NMS semifinalists of any high school in the Archdiocese of Cincinnati. Since 2013, 37 Carroll High School students have been recognized in the NMS competition as semifinalists or commended scholars.

Finalists will be announced in February.






News-Current report compiled by Scott Halasz