COLUMBUS — Two Beavercreek residents will be inducted into the 2017 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame during a special ceremony open to the public Thursday, Nov. 9.

The 20-member class will be inducted before dignitaries, family and friends with Ohio Lieutenant Governor Mary Taylor and Ohio Department of Veterans Services Director Chip Tansill offering remarks of gratitude during the hour-long program. A breakfast reception will begin at 9 a.m. with the induction ceremony following at 10 a.m. at Radiant Life Church, 7100 Post Road, Dublin.

Blanche Aviles Casey

United States Air Force Veteran; Vietnam, Operation Desert Shield/Operation Desert Storm Eras

Blanche Aviles Casey, 73, of Beavercreek, served in the U.S. Air Force during the Vietnam and Desert Shield/Desert Storm eras. She retired from the Air Force after a 30-year career and went on to become a public servant at county, state and federal government levels. She is the American Legion Post 763 Adjutant, serves on the Post Color Guard and is the editor of the Post’s award-winning newsletter. Casey is a life member of Vietnam Veterans of America Post 930, a commissioner on the Greene County Veterans Service Commission and appointee on the Greene County Transit Board.

As a commissioner, her administrative and management background contributed to major updates of office procedures and protocols. As a gubernatorial appointee, Casey was the consumer advocate and state licensing exam administrator on the Ohio Chiropractic Board for eight years, during which major changes in public law were enacted for the first time in 25 years. As a presidential appointee, she mentored student interns and encouraged them to graduate. She also was a volunteer for the President’s Annual Easter Egg Roll attended by families from all over the United States. She is a recipient of the Governor’s Distinguished Hispanic Ohioan Award for Military Service of Distinction, the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Hispanic Heritage Month Community Service Award and the New York State Citizenship Award.

Richard V. Reynolds

United States Air Force Veteran; Cold War Era

Richard V. Reynolds, 68, of Beavercreek, served in the U.S. Air Force from 1971 to 2005. Since retirement, he has amassed a record of service to the local community, state and nation. He is Past Chairman, President and CEO of the Air Force Museum Foundation, Inc., and led the $40.8 million campaign to fund the Museum’s 224,000-square-foot expansion. He is Chairman of the Dayton Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center Fisher House fundraising committee, and was a member of the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Fisher House II capital campaign committee.

He co-founded Air Camp, Inc., a Dayton-based weeklong, immersive science, technology, engineering and mathematics experience for middle- and grade-school students. As a member of the National Veterans Memorial & Museum Advisory Committee, he co-developed the NVM&M core themes, consulted with the exhibits architect, and supported fundraising. As a member of the Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group of the National Research Council, Reynolds is on call to provide quick response advice to the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. In October 2014, he delivered a TEDxDayton talk, titled “The 1%” focusing on the growing state of disconnectedness between the U.S. population and those serving in, or veterans of, the U.S. Armed Forces.”

The Class of 2017 was chosen from among 103 nominations. The inductees span 15 different Ohio counties and all five major branches of the United States Armed Forces – the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard. This year’s class joins 834 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since 1992 and represent all eras, branches and walks of life.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established 25 years ago by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize the post-military achievements of outstanding Ohio veterans. Charter members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 1992 included the six Ohio veterans who were elected President of the United States as well as Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees include astronauts, volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and former government officials. Among the many noteworthy members of the Hall are John Glenn, Woody Hayes, Dave Thomas, Paul Newman, Vern Riffe, Neil Armstrong and Sharon Lane.



News-Current Report

Story courtesy of Ohio Department of Veterans Services.