Women’s Hall of Fame inductees announced

GREENE COUNTY — Six Greene County women will be inducted into the Greene County Women’s Hall of Fame.

This year’s honorees are Jane Alkire and Cheryl Marcus of Xenia, Jo Ferguson of Beavercreek, Joan Horn of Yellow Springs and Virginia Pinkerton of Cedarville.

Additionally, Hallie Quinn Brown of Wilberforce, who died in 1949, will be inducted posthumously.

The public is invited to attend the 37th Annual Recognition Day Luncheon honoring these women on Saturday, September 23. The luncheon will begin at 11:30 a.m. at Walnut Grove Country Club, located astride the Greene-Montgomery county line at 5050 Linden Avenue in Riverside.

This year’s featured speaker will be Dr. Nodie Washington, a previous inductee.

Reservations are $20 and must be paid in advance by mail with the final deadline of Friday, September 15. Guests are asked to note on the check for vegetarian option for lunch. Receipt will be held at the door. Checks payable to Greene County Women’s Hall of Fame should be mailed to PO Box 703, Fairborn, OH 45324.

For further information about reservations, call Ann Byrd, Hall of Fame chair at 937-429-1805.

Greene County News

Story courtesy of Greene County Women’s Hall of Fame.